Suspensions & Hearings: Other Possible Reasons for Suspension (Non Motor Vehicle)

Non-payment of Child Support: If the RMV has received notification from the Department of Revenue that you have failed to pay child support, your license or right to operate will be suspended until you have paid your outstanding obligations and have obtained a Compliance Letter from the Department of Revenue (DOR) Child Support Unit. You must contact the DOR directly at 617-660-1234 or 1-800-332-2733 if calling from outside the 617 area code. The reinstatement process for non-payment of child support is done entirely by the DOR. If you have any suspensions for other offenses, these must be handled at a full service RMV branch office.

Non-payment of State Taxes: If you fail to pay your state taxes, your license, right to operate, or any registrations issued to you or your company may be suspended indefinitely until you have paid your outstanding taxes to the Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR). In order to resolve this issue, you must contact the DOR's Collection Department at 617-887-6400. Once the issue is resolved, the DOR will clear the suspension from your RMV driving history. If the Suspension has gone into effect, you will owe a $100 reinstatement fee to the RMV. This can be paid by calling the Telephone Center. You may also pay in person at any full service RMV branch office, or mail your fees (Do Not Mail Cash) to:

Driver Control/ Court Records
Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205-5896

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: If the RMV has received notification from the Sex Offender Registry Board that you were required to register as a sex offender, but failed to do so, your license or right to operate will be suspended indefinitely until you have complied with the law. You can download a SORB Registration Form by visiting the Sex Offender Registry website. The Sex Offender Registry Board can be reached by phone at 978-740-6400. You may also register at your local police department.

NOTE: You must register in the city where your offense occurred, the city where you live, and the city where you work. If you live out-of-state and work in Massachusetts, you must register in the Massachusetts city where you work.

Property Damage Claims: Under MGL C90, S22A, the Registrar shall be notified by a court within 60 days when a person fails to pay for damages to property when a court order mandated such payment. The suspension will stand until the person satisfies the clerk of the court in which the order was issued by making a deposit with the clerk of the court for the amount of the judgment.. A Release of Judgment must be submitted to the Registry in order to have the Right to Operate restored. A $100.00 reinstatement fee will be due as well. This fee must be paid by a check, money order, or certified check mailed to the following address:

Driver Control/ Property Damage Claims
Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205-5896

Printer icon, opens print window Print This Page


| Translation Support
Massachusetts Department of Transportation

MassDOT Twitter massrmv MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Blog MassDOT Site Policies MassDOT Developer Resources