The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation

Massachusetts Ferry Compact

Home > Statewide Plans > Ferry Compact

Projects and Services

Welcome to the Massachusetts Ferry Compact information page

This page is the central location for all Ferry Compact business, including all information about upcoming and past meetings.


The Ferry Compact’s principal mission is to identify an overall vision for the ferry system in Massachusetts which improves the transportation of people, goods, and vehicles by water.  The Compact’s membership, listed below, is a mix of state agencies, state and local elected officials, and other organizations who are dedicated to improving ferry transportation in the Commonwealth.  Please feel free to take a look at the documents below for more information on the Compact and its latest business.


Ferry Compact Meeting Information


Reports and Other Technical Information


The Ferry Compact held a series of meetings on October 3rd and October 11th at the MassDOT Office of Transportation Planning in Boston. The major topic of discussion was the selection of projects to apply for funding through the new $30 million competitive FTA Ferry Services Grant Program created under MAP-21.  Seven projects were submitted to the Compact for consideration.  Three projects: (1) Pemberton Pier Improvements in Hull, (2) Repowering and steering upgrades for the MBTA vessel Lightning, and (3) Lovejoy Wharf ferry dock improvements in Boston were selected for submission to FTA. The date and location of the Ferry Compact’s next meeting has not yet been finalized.


If you have comments or questions related to the Massachusetts Ferry Compact, please contact Steve Woelfel, Deputy Executive Director, (857) 368-9800.


Richard A. Davey, Secretary & CEO Massachusetts Department of Transportation
Senator Thomas M. McGee Massachusetts General Court
Representative William M. Straus Massachusetts General Court
Beverly Scott, General Manager Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority
Thomas Glynn, CEO Massachusetts Port Authority
Wayne Lamson, General Manager Steamship Authority
Louis Elisa, Executive Director Seaport Advisory Council
Vivien Li, Director  Boston Harbor Association
Martin J. Walsh, Mayor City of Boston
Judith F. Kennedy, Mayor City of Lynn
Jonathan F. Mitchell, Mayor City of New Bedford
Kimberley Driscoll, Mayor City of Salem
Philip E. Lemmios, Town Manager Town of Hull 
James M. McKenna, Town Manager
Town of Winthrop
William Walker, President, Boston's Best Cruises Private Ferry Operators Representative Private Ferry Operators Representative
Sharon Lynn, Town Manager Town of Provincetown
Translation Disabled  | Translation Support