Closing in on $75 million raised for associated charities
WEST SPRINGFIELD – Thursday, September 19, 2013 – Today, MassDOT Registrar of Motor Vehicles Rachel Kaprielian joined numerous charitable organizations to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the passage of Special License Plate legislation during Massachusetts Day at The Big E fairgrounds in West Springfield.
Legislation enacted in 2003 has allowed a range of charitable organizations to raise funds through the RMV’s motor vehicle registration process. More than 215,000 special plates are on the road associated with these organizations and the funds raised will soon surpass $75 million.
“The Registry felt it was important to mark this anniversary in a big way,” said Registrar Kaprielian. “The charitable plate program gives Massachusetts motorists a way to raise millions for causes those drivers feel are worthy of support.”
“It’s clear that the Special License Plate law has been a resounding success. As one of the law’s original sponsors, I have always felt that the Commonwealth’s drivers would take advantage of this program in a big way, and in doing so, they’ve benefited many worthwhile causes,” said Representative Timothy J. Toomey, Jr.
There are 19 special plates on the road and a handful were created prior to the passage of the 2003 legislation. The success of all the plates is included in these figures.
MassDOT is sharing with its customers the results of each plate’s charitable efforts with a series of blogs and stories from many of the special plates. Visit www.mass.gov/blog/transportation to learn more. The Registry does not endorse any particular plate but strives to provide basic information on the program throughout the year.
Customers wishing to support one of the organizations through a special license plate may visit our website, www.MassRMV.com to register or learn more.
Special plate registrations range from $90 to $100 every two years. Fifty dollars covers the standard registration fee and the additional $40 to $50 goes directly to the charity with the exception of $12 to 15 to cover the cost of the plate when it is first issued.
For transportation news and updates visit MassDOT at our website: www.mass.gov/massdot, blog: www.mass.gov/blog/transportation, or follow MassDOT on twitter at www.twitter.com/massdot and Facebook at www.facebook.com/massdotinfo.