The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation

Boards & Committees

Home > Boards & Committees

Boards & Committees

A seven-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor with expertise in transportation, finance and engineering will oversee the new organization, while serving as the governing body of both MassDOT and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), which will be part of MassDOT but will retain a separate legal existence. MassDOT will be administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer.

A Committee on Finance and Audit was established to facilitate consideration of the finances, business and management of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation.

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) is an independent body appointed by the Secretary of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation. Its purpose is to serve as public forum to discuss issues related to the implementation of the Commonwealth's transportation reform legislation enacted in 2009, and to verify and observe MassDOT progress on reform.

The Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) five-member Fiscal and Management Control Board (FMCB) was appointed by Governor Charlie Baker. The Board represents a key reform recommended by the Governor’s MBTA Special Panel following unprecedented 2014-15 winter weather that crippled service at the MBTA. By statute, the MBTA FMCB consists of five members, one with experience in transportation finance, one with experience in mass transit operations and three members of the MassDOT Board. The Chair is appointed by the Secretary of Transportation.

Translation Disabled  | Translation Support