The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation

About Us

Home > About Us

MassDOT Leadership

Governor Charlie Baker
Charlie Baker,
A seven-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor with expertise in transportation, finance and engineering will oversee the organization, while serving as the governing body of both MassDOT and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), which is part of MassDOT but retains a separate legal existence. MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer.

The organization oversees four new divisions: Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

MassDOT Board of Directors

John R. Jenkins John R. Jenkins, a Natick resident, will serve as Chair of the MassDOT Board and was a former Massachusetts Turnpike Authority Board member. He is President of West Insurance Agency, Inc.
Dominic Blue Dominic Blue a resident of Longmeadow, is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. He earned his J.D. from Boston College Law School and his M.B.A. from the Carroll School of Management (Boston College). Mr. Blue serves on the board of directors of the Greater Springfield YMCA, where he is also a member of the finance committee.
Joseph C. Bonfiglio Joseph C. Bonfiglio, represents nearly 20,000 construction workers and public service employees in his role as Business Manager for the Massachusetts and Northern New England Laborers’ District Council. He brings to the board a unique perspective and passion for ensuring workers are protected on the job.
Robin Chase Robin Chase is a transportation entrepreneur. She is founder and former CEO of Zipcar, the largest carsharing company in the world; Buzzcar, a carsharing marketplace in France; and GoLoco, an online ridesharing community. Chase is Executive Chairman of Veniam ‘Works, a vehicle mesh communications company. Robin serves as a World Resources Institute Board member. She has also served on the National Advisory Council for Innovation & Entrepreneurship for the US Department of Commerce; the US Department of Transportation Intelligent Transportations System Program Advisory Committee; Massachusetts Governor’s Transportation Transition Working Group; and Boston Mayor’s Wireless Task Force.
Janice Loux Janice Loux, a resident of Williamstown, is the first female president of UNITE HERE! Local 26, representing more than 6,300 hotel and food service workers in metropolitan Boston and was a member of the board of directors of the MBTA for 12 years under five governors.
Professor Andrew Whittle Professor Andrew Whittle, ScD, P.E., a geotechnical engineer, he currently serves as an Edmund K. Turner Professor of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Whittle is a resident of Boxborough.

Stephanie Pollack, Secretary

MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer. Secretary Pollack serves as an ex-officio member as prescribed by legislation passed in July 2012.

The organization oversees four new divisions:
Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles(RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

Mission and Values

Our Mission:

Deliver excellent customer service to people who travel in the Commonwealth, and to provide our nation's safest and most reliable transportation system in a way that strengthens our economy and quality of life.

We are one transportation organization focused on customer service and safety.

Our Values:

  1. Dedication
    We will provide service around the clock and under all circumstances.

  2. Respect
    We will treat the public as our valued customer, and treat one another how we would like to be treated.

  3. Innovation
    We will improve and integrate transportation services using creative thinking and best available practices and technology, while minimizing disruption to the public.

  4. Diversity
    We will promote an inclusive workforce and a culture that serves employees and customers fairly.

  5. Honesty
    We will provide the public accurate information that is understandable and accessible.


In June 2009, Governor Deval Patrick signed Chapter 25 of the Acts of 2009, "An Act Modernizing the Transportation Systems of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, (as amended by Chapter 26 of the "Act.") This landmark transportation reform legislation requires that the Commonwealth integrate transportation agencies and authorities into a new, streamlined Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT), established by November 1, 2009.

The Massachusetts Department of Transportation is a merger of the Executive Office of Transportation and Public Works (EOT) and its divisions with the Massachusetts Turnpike Authority (MTA), the Massachusetts Highway Department (MHD), the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), the Massachusetts Aeronautics Commission (MAC), and the Tobin Bridge, currently owned and operated by the Massachusetts Port Authority (MPA). In addition, the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) and Regional Transit Authorities (RTA) are subject to oversight by the new organization.

The organization also assumed responsibility for many of the bridges and parkways currently operated by the Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR).

MassDOT Divisions

MassDOT includes four Divisions: Highway, Transit, Aeronautics, and Registry of Motor Vehicles. The Secretary appoints an administrator for each division.

Highway Division:

The Highway Division includes the roadways, bridges, and tunnels of the former Massachusetts Highway Department and Massachusetts Turnpike Authority. The Tobin Bridge joins the Division, effective January 1, 2010. The Division also includes many bridges and parkways previously under the authority of the Department of Conservation and Recreation. The Highway Division is responsible for the design, construction and maintenance of the Commonwealth's state highways and bridges. The Division is responsible for overseeing traffic safety and engineering activities including the Highway Operations Control Center to ensure safe road and travel conditions.

Rail &Transit Division:

The Transit Division is responsible for all transit initiatives and oversees the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) and all Regional Transit Authorities of the Commonwealth. The MassDOT Board of Directors serves as the governing body of the MBTA.

Aeronautics Division:

The Aeronautics Division has jurisdiction over the Commonwealth's public use airports, private use landing areas, and seaplane bases. It is responsible for airport development and improvements, aviation safety, aircraft accident investigation, navigational aids, and statewide aviation planning. The Division certifies airports and heliports, licenses airport managers, conducts annual airport inspections, and enforces safety and security regulations.

Registry of Motor Vehicles:

The Registry of Motor Vehicles Division is responsible for vehicle operator licensing and vehicle and aircraft registration, available online and at branch offices across the Commonwealth. The Registry oversees commercial and non-commercial vehicle inspection stations.
Translation Disabled  | Translation Support