Patrick-Murray Administration Introduces New MassDOT Service to Help Teens Secure Identification CredentialsNew law allows RMV to issue Mass ID's to 14, 15 year olds; Makes it easier for young people to find work
(Worcester-Tuesday, November 23, 2010) - Joined by students and local leaders, MassDOT Registrar Rachel Kaprielian today announced that the Registry of Motor Vehicles will now make Massachusetts identity documents (ID's) available to 14 and 15 year old applicants, making it easier for young people across the state to find work.
The bill, signed into law by Governor Deval Patrick last summer, lowers the eligibility age for the official Massachusetts ID from age 16 to 14. Having a state ID will allow students to more easily obtain a work permit and cash their paychecks, as well as help teenagers prove their identity to potential employers who must file work eligibility verification documents with the federal government.
"This new eligibility requirement fills a void that has long been needed," said Registrar Kaprielian. "We've had to turn away a number of adolescents under age 16 hoping to acquire an official ID because they are looking for summer work or were involved in an intern program."
"I was proud to sponsor this legislation allowing our young people an avenue to obtain proper identification for employment purposes," said State Rep. John P. Fresolo. "It is common sense to allow 14 and 15 year olds who are eager to enter the workforce, to work part-time during the summer. Providing them with access to Mass ID's could help their chances of finding employment and also increases public safety by enabling our children to have a source of identification on them at all times."
A group of Worcester South High School students invited to the announcement became the first teenagers to apply for the MassID.
"I am going to use this when I find a summer job next year," said 14 year old Migel Valentin.
Rafal Bobinski, a 15 year old student said, "The ID isn't just useful for work, it will also help me when I go to open a checking account or get into the Boy's and Girl's Club where they may ask for a photo ID."
Under-age applicants must satisfy all the requirements for obtaining a Mass ID which can be found in the driver's manual or at www.massrmv.com.
MassDOT RMV Division serves more than 4.6 million drivers at 30 branch locations and online at www.massrmv.com. In the past year, the RMV has added more than ten transactions to the website enabling customers to apply online for a first time license or convert an out-of-state license and then schedule a branch appointment; renew a license, ID, and registration; order a driving record, police crash report and Fast Lane transponder; view the status of a license, registration, driver education certificate and title; sign up for a license renewal reminder and organ/tissue donation as well as cancel a registration plate.
For transportation news and updates, visit www.mass.gov/blog/transportation or follow MassDOT on Twitter at www.twitter.com/massdot.