Replacement Plates

Replacement plates may be ordered from an RMV branch or over the phone (857-368-8000 or toll free 800-858-3926). The fee is $10 per plate. You will be issued a temporary plate permit to keep in the vehicle until the plate arrives. You may obtain an inspection with this permit, if needed. If both of your plates were lost or stolen, you must obtain a new set of plates (new plate/registration number) from an RMV branch.

Unfortunately, green plates cannot be replaced with the same number. You may exchange them for two new red ones (new plate/registration number) for no fee by visiting an RMV branch with a signed and stamped RMV-3 (provided by your insurance agent).

The RMV is NOT recalling green license plates. By state law, Massachusetts license plates must be readable from 60 feet away. Any green or red passenger plate, which has lost its reflective coating or paint, must be replaced. You can be cited by law enforcement for this violation. Also, your vehicle will be ineligible to pass the yearly required state safety inspection.

The RMV encourages vehicle owners to swap illegible plates for a set of red plates at no fee. Faded and illegible plates can be swapped at any of the RMV's full service branch locations.


Printer icon, opens print window Print This Page



| Translation Support
Massachusetts Department of Transportation

MassDOT Twitter massrmv MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Blog MassDOT Site Policies MassDOT Developer Resources