The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation - Aeronautics Division

Home > News & Updates
For Immediate Release: 09/11/2012

Contact: Kim Haberlin, Bonnie McGilpin, Matt Kitsos – 617-725-4025; Cyndi Roy (MassDOT) – 617-973-8166                      

Governor Patrick Announces MassDOT Board Of Directors

BOSTON – Tuesday, September 11, 2012 – Governor Deval Patrick today announced the membership of the newly expanded Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) Board of Directors, adding to the panel new individuals with extensive expertise and proven leadership in transportation and business.

The Governor appointed new members Alan G. Macdonald and Joseph C. Bonfiglio and reappointed former Board chairman John R. Jenkins and former Board members Ferdinand Alvaro, Janice Loux, and Andrew Whittle. Secretary Richard A. Davey will serve as an ex-officio member as prescribed by legislation passed in July expanding the board to seven members from five.

“We are at a crossroads in transportation and must tackle the challenges we face head on,” said Governor Patrick. “I have confidence that this Board, with its depth of expertise and its understanding of the importance of a strong transportation system to a robust 21st century economy, will rise to the challenges and help us find ways to maintain and improve our transportation system for the long-term.”

The Board will be chaired by John Jenkins, who served as chairman of both the MassDOT and Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) Boards before they were dissolved. He led the Board through a difficult fare increase process earlier this year as the MBTA hosted more than 30 public meetings to gather input on fare and service changes to balance the MBTA’s budget. A Natick resident, Jenkins also served as a member of the Board of the former Massachusetts Turnpike Authority.

Macdonald served as executive director of the Massachusetts Business Roundtable for 23 years before his retirement. In addition, he has served as both chairman of the Transportation Advisory Committee and as a member of the Transportation Finance Commission that in 2007 identified the Commonwealth’s transportation finance challenges and issued recommendations for closing the estimated gap.

Bonfiglio represents nearly 20,000 construction workers and public service employees in his role as Business Manager for the Massachusetts and Northern New England Laborers’ District Council. He brings to the board a unique perspective and passion for ensuring workers are protected on the job.

“Alan and Joe are great additions to the Board, and I look forward to working with them and the rest of the members as we build on the good work that began with transportation reform, ” said Secretary Davey.

Returning board members Jenkins, Loux, Alvaro and Whittle have made a demonstrated commitment to improving the state of our transportation infrastructure.

·         Professor Andrew Whittle, a geotechnical engineer, currently serves as Department Head of the Massachusetts Institute for Technology’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

·         Ferdinand Alvaro is Partner-in-Charge of the Adorno & Yoss LLP Boston office and Co-Chair of the National Business Law Group.

·         Janice Loux is the first female president of UNITE HERE! Local 26, representing more than 6,300 hotel and food service workers in metropolitan Boston. She has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the MBTA for 15 years.

Translation Disabled  | Translation Support