The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation - Highway Division
About Us
Home > About Us

MassDOT Leadership

Governor Deval Patrick
Deval Patrick,
A seven-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor with expertise in transportation, finance and engineering will oversee the organization, while serving as the governing body of both MassDOT and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), which is part of MassDOT but retains a separate legal existence. MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer.

The organization oversees four new divisions: Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

MassDOT Board of Directors

John R. Jenkins John R. Jenkins, a Natick resident, will serve as Chair of the MassDOT Board and was a former Massachusetts Turnpike Authority Board member. He is President of West Insurance Agency, Inc.
Dominic Blue Dominic Blue a resident of Longmeadow, is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. He earned his J.D. from Boston College Law School and his M.B.A. from the Carroll School of Management (Boston College). Mr. Blue serves on the board of directors of the Greater Springfield YMCA, where he is also a member of the finance committee.
Joseph C. Bonfiglio Joseph C. Bonfiglio, represents nearly 20,000 construction workers and public service employees in his role as Business Manager for the Massachusetts and Northern New England Laborers’ District Council. He brings to the board a unique perspective and passion for ensuring workers are protected on the job.
Janice Loux Janice Loux, a resident of Williamstown, is the first female president of UNITE HERE! Local 26, representing more than 6,300 hotel and food service workers in metropolitan Boston and was a member of the board of directors of the MBTA for 12 years under five governors.
Alan G. Macdonald Alan G. Macdonald, served as executive director of the Massachusetts Business Roundtable for 23 years before his retirement. In addition, he has served as both chairman of the Transportation Advisory Committee and as a member of the Transportation Finance Commission that in 2007 identified the Commonwealth’s transportation finance challenges and issued recommendations for closing the estimated gap.
Professor Andrew Whittle Professor Andrew Whittle, ScD, P.E., a geotechnical engineer, he currently serves as an Edmund K. Turner Professor of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Whittle is a resident of Boxborough.

Richard A. Davey, Secretary of Transportation, and Chief Executive Officer
MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer. Secretary Davey serves as an ex-officio member as prescribed by legislation passed in July 2012.

The organization oversees four new divisions:
Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles(RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

Mission and Values

Our Mission:

Deliver excellent customer service to people who travel in the Commonwealth, and to provide our nation’s safest and most reliable transportation system in a way that strengthens our economy and quality of life.

We are one transportation organization focused on customer service and safety.

Our Values:

  • Dedication
    We will provide service around the clock and under all circumstances.

  • Respect
    We will treat the public as our valued customer, and treat one another how we would like to be treated.

  • Innovation
    We will improve and integrate transportation services using creative thinking and best available practices and technology, while minimizing disruption to the public.

  • Diversity
    We will promote an inclusive workforce and a culture that serves employees and customers fairly.

  • Honesty
    We will provide the public accurate information that is understandable and accessible.

Highway Division

Frank DePaola
Administrator, Highway Division
Massachusetts Department of Transportation

Frank DePaola

Frank DePaola serves as Administrator of the MassDOT Highway Division, overseeing the safe construction, maintenance and operation of the Commonwealth's roads, bridges and tunnels for drivers, bicyclists and pedestrians. DePaola is a professional engineer with more than 30 years of experience in the design and construction industry.

DePaola previously served as Assistant General Manager for Design and Construction at the MBTA. Prior to joining the MBTA in 2009, he worked with Harvard University as part of the Allston Development Group, and was previously director of construction for the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority. DePaola is a licensed, registered professional engineer in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and holds a Master of Science degree in civil engineering from Northeastern University and Bachelor of Science degree in civil engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth.
Translation Disabled  | Translation Support