The Official Website of The Massachusetts Department of Transportation

Board of Directors

Home > Boards & Committees > Board of Directors

Boards & Committees


A seven-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor with expertise in transportation, finance and engineering will oversee the organization, while serving as the governing body of both MassDOT and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), which will be part of MassDOT but will retain a separate legal existence. MassDOT will be administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer.

The organization oversees four new divisions: Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

MassDOT's Board of Directors Member Profiles

FY 2012 Operating Budget Briefing [PDF - 48KB]
Translation Disabled  | Translation Support